The intro from an atheist blogger:

While perusing through Fundies Say The Darndest Things, a user-provided content site where people submit ridiculous and sometimes hilarious fundamentalist views and rants, I found a very interesting quote. The quote comes from David J. Stewart, from Jesus-is-savior.com and addresses the question “Is it okay to divorce an abusive spouse?

And the passage he or she quotes:

Interestingly, and sadly, all we see on the internet and in society today is talk about domestic violence; but NEVER do we hear anything about statistics on wives who refuse to obey their husbands. It is evil. It is just as sinful for a wife to frustrate her husband through insubordination and disobedience as it is for a man to commit domestic violence. I am not lessening the sin of domestic violence, I am emphasizing the sin of wives who rebel against their husbands by not being obedient. I realize this is ancient mentality to feminists today; but it is 100% Biblical doctrine. A wife is expected by God to obey her husband. Feminists are eagerly willing to crucify abusive husbands; BUT they won’t even address the issue of wives who disobey, mistreat, and frustrate their husbands. It takes two to tango.

Please understand that I believe a wife who is being physically abused should leave if she feels threatened; but not divorce. Such a wife needs to sincerely ask herself “why” her husband is being abusive–there’s ALWAYS a reason. …”

David J. Stewart, Jesus-is-savior.com [2007-Feb-17]

I’m not particularly religious, so I just don’t understand.  I’ll just leave it at that.