Here are some quotes from conversations I’ve had or overheard about the June election which I think are amusing, and perhaps mildly educational.  I’m leaving names out, even for those who said they wouldn’t mind.

….

“Who is she (Karen Brooks) kidding?  Those signs trying to appeal to hippies look more like a graphic from the Partridge Family.  If we were mostly a black community would she be trying to sing hip hop?  It’s almost insulting!”

….

85-year-old Fortuna woman on Clif:  “I like Clif, but he doesn’t want a Wal-Mart.  Some of us are on fixed incomes and I want to see a Wal-Mart in Fortuna.  I will probably vote for him but he better behave himself until June!”

….

“I’m being disenfranchised here.  My house used to be in the First District, so I didn’t get to vote in the Fourth District election last time.  Now I’ve been moved into the Fourth District, so I don’t get to vote this time either!”

….

“Is Rex running for Baseball Commissioner?”  (in reference to his signs)

….

“I have nothing against Clif.  I like him.  But maybe we finally have a chance to have direct Southern Humboldt representation for the first time ever.  I don’t want to pass up on a chance like that.  But Clif grows the best mutsu apples I’ve ever had!”

….

“I was listening to KGOE the other morning.  A Stacey Lawson commercial came up and I switched over to KHUM only to hear the second half of the commercial right where I had left it.  It was like I had changed to the same station.  Synchronicity.  Maybe this has something to do with her New Age spirituality.  A harmonic convergence or something?”

….

“If everybody who supports Norman Solomon would vote for Norman Solomon, Norman Solomon would win.  Haven’t we heard this before?”

….

“The debates are going to be boring.  Now, I would like to see a debate between Mark Lovelace and Rex Bohn.  Why don’t they set that one up?”

….

“Can you tell me what position any of the First District candidates are taking on the Shell wind project?  It’s a mystery to me.”

….

“From a distance it’s hard to tell the difference between Mark’s (Lovelace) signs and Jared Huffman’s.”

….

“There’s an election in June??!”

