Apparently there’s some sort of controversy in which a liberal pundit named Hilary Rosen made a silly comment about Ann Romney not working (for which she has apologized), and the conservative Catholic League saw fit to minimize the value of adoption-based parenting in their Twitter response.

Lesbian Dem Hilary Rosen tells Ann Romney she never worked a day in her life. Unlike Rosen, who had to adopt kids, Ann raised 5 of her own.

I guess adoptive parenting isn’t real parenting and our kids aren’t “our own.”

To their credit, the RNC responded appropriately.

But the Catholic League was clearly playing dog-whistle politics here.  As an adoptive parent I’ve met people who don’t view adoptive relationships as being as valuable or deep as biological relationships.  I was even treated to a biological theory one time as someone told me that he knew a parent who had child by birth and another by adoption and the parent admitted to having a “closer connection” to the natural born child.  I’ve yet to meet similar “mixed” family parents who will admit to the same thing, though I suppose it’s not something a parent would want to admit, even to him/herself if true.

All I can say is that I love my kids so much it hurts.  I have no basis for comparison as I have no children by birth (well, actually my children were in fact born, but I’ll rant about the terminology some other time), but it’s impossible for me to imagine a closer or “deeper” connection.

Literally, there are people out there who will tell me I’m living in politically correct denial.  Probably not many, but I’ve encountered enough of it to know that they aren’t extremely rare.  Certainly a larger percentage of humanity than represented by AB- blood type.

