1.  Phnom Penh Combo (Annie’s Cambodian Cuisine, Eureka) – deliciously spiced meats (chicken, pork, beef) on a crusty roll with pickled vegetables.  Only served at lunch, and only about five bucks.  They’ve got like three different hot sauces on the table if you need more spice.  I’ve written about this place before, and I have yet to be even mildly disappointed with a single dish there.

2.  PLT (provolone, lettuce, and tomato – Amelia’s, Garberville) – This sandwich, I’m told, was a spontaneous late night creation frying up thin slices of provolone cheese to a bacon-like flavor and texture, and making a play on the classic BLT.  It’s served on a great roll, and with a salad.

3.  Chicken Torta Sandwich (Speedy Taco, Eureka) – That trailer restaurant you drive by in the Broadway Theater parking lot has some good food.  Their spicy chicken torta sandwich is a favorite of mine.  Very reasonable, nicely spiced, quick, and yummy.

4.  Chicken Parm (Damato’s, Redway) – Love their chicken parmigiana on a Santo Roll (worth the extra buck for the right bread!).  One in a line of great sandwiches and possibly the best pizza in the county.

5.  Roast Beef, Avocado, Veggie, and Horseradish Sandwich (Wildberries, Arcata) – I don’t know what the sandwich is called, or even if it has a name, but my wife bought one for me one time and brought it to me while I was working, and it was delicious.  I’ve just never made it back to get another one.  Does it ring a bell for anyone?

So what great sandwich experience am I missing?

