Part of the problem is that probably more than half of our generation doesn’t know what a Sputnik is.

….

I had the speech on in the background while dealing with kids, kitchen, etc., but occasionally I stopped to watch.  I missed the Republican rebuttals, both the official one and Michelle Bachman’s which was only aired on CNN (no, not Fox!).  What I noticed was that the clapping and cheering were a bit subdued.  Was it because of the inter-party mingling seating arrangements?  A speech that in terms of specifics was even vaguer than usual (the last real substantive SOTU I watched was in 2003 when President Bush presented made up facts to support the case for the existence of WMD’s in Iraq)?  A GOP on edge about additional Joe Wilson moments?  Did the network (I was watching MSNBC) keep the volume down?

…..

My nine-year-old son came out of his room and asked me how long it would be before the SOTU was over.  I said, “It’ll be all night.  First people will talk about the speech.  And then people will talk about the people talking about the speech.  And then they’ll talk about the people talking about the people talking about the speech.  A half hour into the panel discussions as I flipped across the networks, my son who was sitting on the couch said, “You were serious!”

…..

Josh Marshall’s coverage of Bachman’s rebuttal is entitled “Bachman Trainwreck Blogging.”  The entire entry consists of one sentence:

I’m not even sure what to say about this.

An article has since been posted on the TPM site.

….

Looks like it went over well with viewers, though I don’t trust snap polls.

….

TPM has some fun stuff on its wire.

….

Addendum: TPM has a slide show so that you can see who was sitting next to each other and all that.  Just click on the photo.

