I’m at a loss as to the involuntary manslaughter verdict.  Then again, I didn’t see all the evidence the jury had available.  The “beyond a reasonable doubt” standard really is a tough one, and intent can be hard to prove.  The motive issue was probably a difficult one, as the incident was really bizarre.  Still, the explanation (he thought his gun was a taser) also seems very lame to my lay person mind.

Riots in Oakland with 80 arrests.

I’ll dig up one of the old Youtube vids and post it.

Addendum: My earlier discussion of the incident, and video.

Second addendum: In what could some day develop into a related event, Jon Stewart reviewed the famous Arizona training video and concluding “Mexicans are f#*@ed.”

Third addendum: Well, they aren’t identical, but a taser certainly looks more like a gun than a wallet.

The photo comes from Photography is not a Crime.

Fourth addendum: And I’ll close out for now with Michael Moore at his best on one of his several short-lived television shows.  I believe this series is actually available on Netflix.