Here’s CNN’s account. Here’s the BBC account.

I don’t support the death penalty under any circumstances, so it’s hard for me to get worked up about it. I feel like I should feel differently about any death. But this guy was, well, what he was.

I do have questions about the trial, and I’m sure all of those will be raised. So far no reports of increased violence in Iraq, though I’d expect something symbolic to happen over the next few days, or as soon as the inevitable increased security is eased. Also, from this account it doesn’t appear that his family was in attendance. I hope that was a matter of choice for the family.

And maybe some are breating just a bit easier in Iraq? Maybe not.

Anyway, I don’t really have anything profound to say about it right now. Feel free to comment.

None of the major league blogs has put together any meaningful thoughts yet that I can find. I may update this with some links tomorrow night if I come across anything particularly worth reading. Whatever you think of the execution, the war, President Bush, whatever – this is a big moment in history.

Photo is from BBC.

