I’m hearing through the grapevine that they were trying to get him to repudiate the song and make a public apology, but that’s apparently not going to happen.

I went to the People Productions site last night and the concert was clearly marked “cancelled.” Just went there and the cancelled sign is gone. My wife says that KHUM announced that Carol Bruno had received 500 calls from people who want the concert back on. They had their Friday night planned apparently, and that’s all that matters.

Meanwhile, Estelle let me hear her recorded interview with Buju’s campaign manager. Not one straight answer in about 20 minutes of conversation. I don’t want to scoop Estelle, so you can listen to the highlights tonight.

Next month at the Mateel, we’ll be booking David Duke and the Grand Wizards who’ll be playing a reggae version of Mammy’s Little Baby after reciting poetry based on the text of the Protocols of the Elders of Zion. Maybe we can get Kinky Friedman to open.

Is anybody going to picket the concert tonight?

Update: I’ll be there at just before 9 tonight. If anybody wants to join me, I’d appreciate the company. Bring candles. It’ll probably be too dark for signs.

