I’ve got some posts on the backburner (including one about Gallegos and the dog torturers), but not a lot of time right now. But I have a few short thoughts for discussion.

…..

I was in court yesterday morning. There were three criminal trials in progress, almost capacity – not in terms of the available judges but in terms of the available jurors in any given week (or so this is what I’m told when we can’t get our cases out). We have one designated civil judge (J. Michael Brown). Every party in a lawsuit has the right to exclude one judge from handling the trial under Civil Code section 170.6. When a party exercises that right, the case competes with the criminal cases for those courtrooms, and criminal cases have priority. There is almost never an available courtroom for those cases. The point is, if Gallegos and his people are pleading all those cases out, why can’t I get my civil cases tried in a timely manner?

…..

A gentleman named Carl Johnson wrote a very brief letter to counter some of the accolades for Tim McKay, published in the ER yesterday. My first response was that it was unnecessary to criticize McKay now that he’s dead, but I thought about it. Mr. Johnson doesn’t attack McKay’s character, only what he perceives to be the impact of McKay’s deeds. It doesn’t attack his intent, nor his character. Secondly, he did wait awhile to submit the letter, so that he wouldn’t be aggravating fresh wounds, and the letter is more in response to the avalanche of praise than a comment on McKay himself.

Of course, Mr. Johnson is wrong in his conclusions, but I hope the responses to his letter aren’t reflective of my initial gut reaction. I don’t think Johnson means any disrespect.

…..

I heard on the KMUD’s news rebroadcast yesterday morning that the bill that would have prohibited local regulation of GMO’s was abandoned for the year, thanks in large part due to some parliamentary maneuvers by our own Wes Chesbro. I caught the story at the tail end, so I don’t know the details.

On the downside, the salmon relief bill was also blocked. Retaliation maybe?

…..

Oh, one of the reasons I don’t like Tuesday morning court appearances in Eureka is that Los Bagels is closed on that day. I don’t get my cup of Heart of Darkness! So I have to settle for breakfast at the Cafe Waterfront (great waffles!), now that Carl’s omelets is closed. It was empty when I got there and it looked close from the road due to construction right outside it’s door on F Street. But if you look more closely you’ll see that the corner door has been opened. The restaurant is in fact open for business, which they’re obviously losing at the moment.

…..

More later.

