Honestly, I haven’t really followed the issue of the Balloon track/tract closely. I guess I should dip my feet in. I’ve heard a great deal of partisan squabbling, but North Coast Journal has published a description, a history, and a settling of the track vs. tract debate. And now I know where “balloon” came from.

One Ferndale resident isn’t concerned about whether the current potential buyers might lose interest. Maybe somebody involved can answer whether the predominant opposition to the Arkley plan is environmental or economic (ie. anti-big box). Yes, I know everything goes hand-in-hand, but really it doesn’t. Re Home Depot, will somebody explain why Measure J didn’t resolve that issue?

The Humboldt Advocate covered an effort by Eureka City Council Member Jeff Leonard to sell the proposed plan to members of the public. The article references some excellent questions, but didn’t provide Leonard’s response. Did he respond to them, or simply “stick to his original point?”

…..

It seems that the polygraph results in the Whitethorne kidnapping/rape case will be released in August. Why so long? In all the television cop shows, the test administrator simply nods or shakes his head at the interrogating cop and that’s that.

…..

My neighbor showed me a google download of History of Oil, by Robert Newman. It’s a monologue reminiscent of Spalding Gray’s old stuff, back when he was political. It’s a history known to those of us who were raised on Noam Chomsky, delivered in hilarious fashion. I don’t agree with all of it, but he raises some excellent points. It’s worth it for the entertainment value alone.

Update: I’ve been reminded that Spalding Gray isn’t apolitical now. He’s dead.

…..

An Inconvenient Truth is at the Garberville Theater this weekend. I hope to see it simply because the federal government has spent tax money to discredit the movie, or more specifically to discredit AP’s report that scientists had praised the movie.

Meanwhile, our favorite blonde hippie was on Hardball and called Gore a “total fag.”

…..

Listening the Thank Jah on KMUD this morning, somebody mentioned that Owl was suspended for a week. Does anybody know what that was about? That’s the second suspension arising from that show, the first being of Kathleen Creager for discussing the new station firing policy.

Update: Apparently they were referencing a joke. Should have figured I’d have heard about it otherwise.

…..

I’ll be adding a new non-local blog to my list of links soon. Michael Berube has written for The Nation and other periodicals, and possibly related to a very entertaining debate with David Horowitz a few years ago ended up on Horowitz’ 101 most dangerous professors (here’s Berube’s response). I’ll be making a more detailed introduction later. For now I’ll just tell you that Berube is a terrific writer and a profound thinker, and you should give him a read. He also warns that blogging can ruin your career. Hmmmmm.

Update: I’ve been informed that Berube has accused Horowitz of editing his arguments in the above-linked debate.

…..

Meanwhile, Molly Ivins is pushing for a Bill Moyers presidential candidacy. We could do much worse.

…..

And Ned Lamont supporters are energized for what could be the upset of the century over Joe Lieberman.

…..

Lastly, Save Ancient Forests introduces us to the PL relief team.

…..

Turns out, Barbara Ehrenreich also has a blog. In her latest entry, she writes about how expensive it is to be poor. I can add a number of items to her list.

If Michael Walzer starts one, I’ll be a happy camper.

